Carry My Cariad

Wraps, slings and cwtched-up things

Yaro La Vita

Budget babywearing at its best

Leave a comment

I spend a lot of time helping people to start using slings, and particularly love it when someone wants to learn to wrap. However, many people in our community are living on tight budgets, and woven wraps rarely come cheap. I definitely didn’t want to spend more than £50 when I was new to babywearing, which left me with limited options at the time.

I was intrigued by Yaro wraps as soon as I saw La Vita, being reviewed by the awesome Hedwych, aka Wrap You In Love. The striking leaf design and pretty colours really appealed to my sense of taste, and the prices seemed too good to be true. At the time, you couldn’t buy them in the UK so I ordered one from Slingomama in the Netherlands. I think I paid around 36Euro plus shipping for a size 2 red and white linen blend.

IMG_5020

Red and white linen blend La Vita

 Red isn’t my colour, but I really loved the look of the wrap, and it was the only La Vita available to buy at the time. I certainly didn’t regret that decision, because it proved to be a lightweight, wide, shimmery, stretchy and comfortable wrap. I used it extensively as a no-sew ringsling and rebozo throughout last summer. The linen was a little stiff at first but softened up very quickly when run through rings and steam ironed.

When I had my big de-stash last year it stayed, because even though it wasn’t my favourite colour or my favourite size, it was just a really good wrap. I only let it go to raise funds to buy a woolly FireSpiral, in a colour and size that worked better for me.

But I missed having a Yaro in my stash. I needed an affordable size 7 wrap to take to consultations, and found a UK retailer, Pour La Bebe, offering a new range of colours and blends at very affordable prices. I ordered a yellow and black La Vita for just £62.

IMG_20150502_074812

This wrap is a little narrower than my previous Yaro – it measures 73cm rather than 76cm. It is still definitely in the wider wrap category though – my Oscha Okinami Sia is just 65cm and most Woven Wings measure between 59 and 63cm. This extra width is very useful when wrapping an older child, especially one who likes to be arms-in. D has always been determined to have her arms out the top of the wrap, but recently has decided she likes arms-in when she’s feeling sleepy. This means I have to ensure there’s enough wrap for her to nestle down in if the mood take takes her. This Yaro is wide enough to provide a nice deep seat with plenty left over for a snug, supportive wrap right up to the nape of her neck.

DSC_1119

Comparing the width against a FireSpiral Glacier Frost Seafoam (70cm) and Oscha Okinami Sia (65cm)

The wrap was very soft straight from new, more so than the linen/cotton blend I owned before. Even though I would never advise it, I couldn’t resist a quick up to try it out before washing. Even brand new, it was easy to mould, tighten and tie off.

IMG_6428

Wrapped really well straight from the bag

The La Vita pattern has a wonderful three-dimensional texture, allowing the wrap to glide when you’re tightening, and grip once it’s in place. The yellow-black colourway really works with this design. The black tempers the yellow, creating a subtle golden colour, which looks really classy – it definitely has the appearance of a wrap worth a lot more than it actually cost.IMG_20150502_074908

 It’s not a heavyweight wrap, and once washed and ironed, it became seriously floppy and easy to use. I think it would be an ideal wrap for a new wrapper with a smaller baby because it breaks in with no effort and would make for delightfully soft single-layer carries with a little squish.

 My base size is a 5 so initially I stuck to a double hammock when back carrying, to avoid falling over the tails. In a double layer carry like this, the wrap is perfectly supportive for my nearly 2 year old. It has a serious amount of diagonal stretch, which takes a little playing around with to get a properly tightened finish. However, it glides so well it is possible to get a really snug chest pass and the stretch allows a tiny amount of bounce and movement, which makes it even more comfortable.

 IMG_6446

I took the wrap out for a few walks to really see how it held up carrying an older child. Even in FWCC with bunched passes I was surprised how weightless D felt. The extra width of the wrap means it can be sandwiched on your shoulders, to create a really deep, cushy and supportive wrap-job.

IMG_6458

Still very supportive in a FWCC

 The design looks lovely on both sides and works really well with carries that show them both off. I used the extra length to add reinforcing passes to a few of my favourite carries, and experiment with some fancy finishes that used the two sides to best effect.

IMG_6593

All-in-all, this is an incredible wrap for the price. You’d be hard pressed to find something that breaks in so easily, wraps so effortlessly and looks so stylish for under £100. Yaro wraps are really starting to make a name for themselves, and deservedly so. New releases tend to sell out quite quickly and sadly some are already being re-sold for significantly more than the original retail price. But they seem keen to keep on reweaving popular designs and releasing new blends, colourways and patterns all the time. I’ve been impressed with the feel and quality of their woolly wraps, and am very much looking forward to giving the new silk and hemp blends a try soon. As long as there’s a plentiful supply of new wraps coming out they’ll hopefully remain a great choice for people looking to start wrapping on a smaller budget.

Leave a Reply

